What I learnt interacting with Japanese users on Nostr

英語版の後に Google Translate を使用して翻訳した日本語版 (間違いがあればごめんなさい)

Hi, I am AutumnSunshine/秋陽 writing this as an entry for Nostr (2) Advent Calendar on 8-December 2023.

First, a little bit about me for context setting. I am from India, and like most non-Japanese people, my introduction to Japan was through anime. I even learnt a bit of Japanese while in middle school 😊 I formally learnt programming about 10 years back but never coded professionally, and as a laggard to try new things, I surprised myself by joining Nostr, where I discovered a very vibrant Japanese user community.

How I met Japanese users:

Amethyst is my main Nostr client and till August, it had a separate global feed. I followed the global feed to see more interesting posts (as my timezone was different from most global users, my Home Feed was mostly static) & I followed the development of Rabbit & Nostter clients closely – so Syusui_s-san & SnowCait-san were probably the first Japanese users I followed.

But my first actual interaction was when Tsururun-san posted the vote about Zapper5000 😛 & I was surprised that Neighbour-niki was popular . Thank you so much, Tsururun-san 🙏 🙏 From then, I followed more Japanese Nostr users and my Home feed completely changed to fast-moving posts & air-replies, and I started interacting a lot more with Japanese Nostr users.

Even the bots are treated with respect as members of SNS

Japanese Nostr is home to many bots, from the all-encompassing Yabumi-chan, the useful conscientious Haiku-bot, strange Tuna-bot, quirky Will & Neighbour Nikki-bot and the newest Shinjiro-bot. Despite knowing that these are bots, I’ve found Japanese Nostr users, treating and responding to them as they would to any other user. Bots are welcomed, which is a very different & unique approach than global users, who while making use of bots like Dave, do not really interact with bots. (Poor Cyborg-kun)

Willingness to share and learn

Nostr, with its reasonably simple protocol, is an inviting playground for developers. While there are many developers from all parts of the world on Nostr, as far as I know only Japanese Nostr has Nostr-tutorial exercises for non-programmers, technical books & articles in regular Software magazines about Nostr and separate Nostr study sessions. Also, I feel that Japanese nostriches are curious to learn & try out other SNS too, without feeling prejudiced/partial to being on Nostr alone.

I have experienced this first-hand, that I feel comfortable to ask (maybe dumb?) questions about some client/tools/NIP or even Japanese customs/language, knowing that if someone on Japanese Nostr sees that & has an answer, they will respond.    

Nostr as a Participative SNS

Nostr, while having many daily users, is not a popular SNS (at least as of December 2023) and it’s a little bit odd, rough-around-the-edges. The general sense that I have is that it’s a refuge for people who like to be left alone doing their own thing, though like Sankaku-san’s article mentions succinctly, Nostr has a way of bringing people out of their shell. オッフ会 (Offline meetings – please check Tsururun-san’s article if you want to know more) is a novel concept for an SNS, that I hadn’t seen many of even in an SNS with a huge userbase like Twitter. The sheer range of offline activities from glamping, fishing, climbing to darts, even online-off like playing games like Mahjong, Among Us or drawing, there seems to be activity for almost everyone.  

Even without the offline or online meetings, there is an openness, partly from the protocol & partly because of the users, that allows for complete anonymity/non-anon ; post a lot or very less & everyone can, if they wish to, be a part of the community. Also, I like that there are many women Nostr users in the Japanese community.

Japan is different but not really

Before Nostr, I viewed Japan as a very exotic place, completely different from the rest of the world. On Nostr, I found out that’s not the whole story – the cultures & customs are unique & different but the everyday topic of discussion: food, work, travel & dev (which is a common for Nostr) is same on Japanese Nostr too. The pictures of food, train stations, landscapes & natural features of Japan, like Hyuga-san’s #autumnstr posts, reinforce my urge to visit Japan. Refreshingly, and like many other SNS, every day brings up something new: someday it’s compressing Kamakura-san’s icon contest, next day it’s NISA, other times about stomach ailments or Godzilla movie or Nostrasia.  

  • Things I thought were popular in Japan
  • Karaoke
  • Sushi
  • Anime
  • Manga
  • Things I found out were popular in Japan via Nostr:
  • Beer (in addition to Sake)
  • Sheesha Parlours
  • Horse-Racing
  • VTubers
  • Forums like 2chan, 4chan & SNS in general

Japan is very high on my travel bucket-list & every year that passes, considering that I never travel outside my country, the journey looks less plausible. But if I visit Japan, I would love to see the places recommended by Nostr users and if possible, have a karaoke session singing Maguro with them. Even if I don’t get to meet in person, I’ve had a great time learning & talking to the “villagers” and will remember the memories of these Nostr interactions fondly!

Japanese Nostr usernames forming a tower
(It is a small subset of users, mainly those I’ve interacted with)

Looking back, this year has had more downsides than upsides, yet I’m glad that I was able to be online friends with Nostr users, especially Japanese users on Nostr! Thank you so much for that & I hope that next year is a great one for all 🙌  

Next article in the Advent Calendar, like mentioned earlier, is Tsururun-san taking us behind-the-scenes of organizing offline events- look forward to reading that!😊

P.S: Since this is December I want to recommend my favourite Christmas movie, Tokyo Godfathers, which captures the spirit of the season.


Nostrで日本のユーザーと交流して学んだこと

こんにちは、AutumnSunshine/秋陽です。2023 年 12 月 8 日の Nostr (2) Advent Calendar のエントリーとしてこれを書いています。

まず、文脈設定のために私について少し説明します。インド出身で、ほとんどの外国人と同じように、日本との出会いはアニメを通してでした。中学生の頃には日本語も少し学びました (少し だけ)😊 10年ほど前に正式にプログラミングを学びましたが、専門的にコーディングしたことはありませんでした。新しいことに挑戦するのが遅かったので、Nostrに参加して自分自身を驚かせました。そこで非常に活気のある日本のユーザーコミュニティを発見しました。

日本のユーザーと出会ったきっかけ

Amethystはメインクライアントで、8 月までは別のグローバル フィードがありました。私は、より興味深い投稿を見るためにグローバル フィードをフォローしました (タイムゾーンがグローバル ユーザーとは異なるため、ホーム フィードはほとんど静的でした)。そして、Rabbit & Nostter クライアントの開発を注意深く追跡しました。つまり、Syusui_s さんと SnowCait さんはおそらく私が初めてフォローした日本のユーザーです。

でも、最初のやり取りは、おそらくつるるんさんZapper5000についての投票を投稿したときでした 😜 &となりのニキが人気だったことに驚きました。つるるんさん、本当にありがとうございます🙏 🙏 それ以来、私はさらに多くの日本のNostrユーザーをフォローし、ホームフィードは動きの速い投稿とエアリプライに完全に変わり、日本のNostrユーザーとより多くの交流をするようになりました。

ボットもSNSの一員として尊重される

日本の Nostr には、包括的なやぶみちゃん、役に立つ良心的な俳句ボット、奇妙な解体マグロbot、風変わりな
Will&隣ニキボット、そして最新の小泉進次郎ボットまで、多くのボットが存在します。これらがボットであることを知りながら、他のユーザーと同じように扱い、対応している日本の Nostr ユーザーを見つけました。ボットは歓迎されていますが、これは、Dave のようなボットを利用しながら実際にはボットと対話しないグローバル ユーザーとは非常に異なった独自のアプローチです。 (かわいそうなCyborg-くん

共有して学びたいという意欲

合理的にシンプルなプロトコルを備えた Nostr は、開発者にとって魅力的な遊び場です。 Nostr には世界各地から多くの開発者がいますが、私の知る限り、非プログラマー向けの Nostr チュートリアル演習、技術書、Nostr に関する定期的なソフトウェア雑誌の記事、および個別の Nostr 勉強会を行っているのは日本の Nostr だけです。また、日本のNostrichesは、Nostrだけに偏見や偏りを感じることなく、他のSNSも学び、試してみたいという好奇心を持っているように感じます。

これを直接経験しており、一部のクライアント/ツール/NIP、さらには日本の習慣/言語についてさえ、(おそらく愚かな?) 質問をすることに抵抗を感じません。誰かがそれを見て答えを持っている場合は、応答します。

参加型SNSとしてのNostr

Nostr は毎日多くのユーザーを抱えていますが、(少なくとも 2023 年 12 月時点では) 人気のある SNS ではなく、少し奇妙で大雑把な印象があります。一般的な感覚としては、ここは一人で自分のことをするのが好きな人のための避難所だということですが、サンカクさんの記事で簡潔に述べられているように、Nostrには人々を自分の殻から連れ出す方法があります。オフラインミーティング (詳しく知りたい方はつるるんさんの記事をご覧ください) –Twitterのような巨大なユーザーベースを持つSNSでもあまり見たことのない、斬新なSNSのコンセプトです。グランピング、釣り、登山からダーツまで、オフラインでのアクティビティは多岐にわたり、麻雀、Among Us などのゲームや絵を描くなどのオンラインでも、ほぼすべての人が楽しめるアクティビティがあるようです。

オフラインまたはオンライン会議がなくても、部分的にはプロトコルによるもので、部分的にはユーザーによるもので、完全な匿名性/非匿名性を可能にするオープン性があります。投稿の量は多くても少なくても、希望すれば誰でもコミュニティの一員になることができます。また、日本のコミュニティにはNostrの女性ユーザーが多いのも気に入っています。

日本は違いますが、実際は違いません

Nostrに来る前、私は日本を世界の他の地域とはまったく異なる、非常にエキゾチックな場所だと考えていました。ノストラでは、それがすべてではないことがわかりました。文化や習慣は独特で異なりますが、食べ物、仕事、旅行、devなどの日常的な話題は、日本のNostrでも同じです。日本の食べ物、駅、風景、自然の写真 (ひゅうが霄さんの #autumnstr の投稿)を見ると、日本を訪れたいという気持ちが高まります。さわやかで、他の多くのSNSと同じように、毎日何か新しいことが生まれます。ある日は鎌倉さんのアイコンコンテストの話題、次の日はNISAの話題、またある時は胃の病気やゴジラ映画やNostrasiaの話題。

  • 日本で流行っていると思ったこと
  • カラオケ
  • 寿司
  • アニメ
  • マンガ
  • Nostrから日本で流行っているを見つけたもの:
  • ビール(日本酒の後)
  • シーシャパーラー
  • 競馬
  • VTubers
  • 2chan、4chanなどのフォーラムやSNS全般

日本は旅行のやりたいことリストの中で非常に上位にありますが、私が国外に旅行したことがないことを考えると、年が経つたびに、その旅は現実味が薄れていきます。でも、もし日本を訪れるなら、Nostr ユーザーのおすすめの場所を見て、できれば一緒にマグロを歌いながらカラオケを楽しみたいです。たとえ直接会うことはできなかったとしても、「村人」たちと学び、話すのはとても楽しい時間を過ごしたので、Nostrで交流の思い出を懐かしく思い出すでしょう。

日本の Nostr ユーザー名がタワーを形成
(ユーザーの小さなサブセットであり、主に私がやり取りしたユーザーです)

振り返ってみると、今年は良い面よりも悪い面の方が多かったですが、Nostr ユーザー、特に Nostr の日本のユーザーとオンラインで友達になれたことをうれしく思います。本当にありがとうございました。来年が皆様にとって素晴らしい年になることを願っています 🙌  

アドベントカレンダーの次の記事は、つるるんさんがオフラインイベント開催について教えてくれます、お楽しみに 😊!

追伸: #NotNostrQuiz: 「Nostr」つて何回言及しましたか? 50越えたっけ?🙈🙈

Leave a comment